Archive for September 25th, 2018

Mizzou New Music Ensemble to perform music by Daugherty,
Sharlat and Donatoni on Monday, October 15 at Whitmore Recital Hall

The Mizzou New Music Ensemble’s first concert of the 2018-19 season will feature works by two composers who are visiting the University of Missouri campus this fall, and more.

The Ensemble will perform at 7:30 p.m. Monday, October 15 at Whitmore Recital Hall, 135 Fine Arts Building on the Mizzou campus. Admission is free and open to the public.

The concert will include “Divertissement” by composer Yevgeniy Sharlat, who will be in Columbia the first week in October; and “Sinatra Shag” and “Jackie’s Song” by multiple Grammy Award winner Michael Daugherty, who’s visiting Mizzou for a residency on Monday, October 8 and Tuesday, October 9. Both Sharlat and Daugherty will spend time during their residencies coaching the Ensemble on the performances of their works.

“Divertissement,” written by Sharlat in 2006 for flute, clarinet, violin, and cello, showcases all four instruments in individual caprices, alternating with slow movements that provide contrast.

“Sinatra Shag” was composed by Daugherty in 1997. It’s one of a series of works inspired by the architecture and popular culture of Las Vegas in the 1960s, incorporating “chromatically ascending passages, swinging lounge instrumental riffs and swirling glisses…looped and layered virtuosically throughout the composition, like a multi-colored shag carpet.”

“Jackie’s Song,” also from 1997, is a work for solo cello that was written as the overture to Daughtery’s opera “Jackie O.”

“Arpége,” a piece from 1986 by Italian composer Franco Donatoni, will complete the program. The work is a series of linked vignettes, each at a different tempo, featuring colorful interplay among various instrumental combinations.

The seven-member Mizzou New Music Ensemble is made up of University of Missouri graduate students under the direction of Stefan Freund, a cellist, composer, conductor, professor of composition, and artistic director of the Mizzou New Music Initiative.

The Ensemble’s members for the 2018-19 season are Hannah Hutchins, percussion; Ann Mozina, flutes; Pedro Ramiro, violin; Elisabeth Roberts, piano; Brianna Trainor, percussion; Cameron Tubbs, cello; and Austin Wright, clarinets. Post-doctoral fellow Yoshiaki Onishi is the Ensemble’s assistant conductor.

Grammy Award-winning vocal ensemble Roomful of Teeth
to perform Tuesday, October 23 at Missouri Theatre

The Grammy Award-winning vocal ensemble Roomful of Teeth is coming to Columbia to perform at 7:00 p.m. Tuesday, October 23 at the Missouri Theatre.

Tickets are $23 and $28, and are on sale now via Ticketmaster and at the Missouri Theatre box office.

While they’re in town, members of Roomful of Teeth will visit the University of Missouri campus to give a presentation on their music and take part in a reading session of works by student composers David Vega, Niko Schroeder, and Ethan Forte. They also will coach and rehearse with the University Singers, who will join them onstage during their Missouri Theatre concert for a performance of “Quizassa” by composer Merrill Garbus.

Founded in 2009, Roomful of Teeth (pictured) is an eight-voice ensemble that studies and incorporates singing techniques from around the world to create what they call “a new repertoire without borders.”

Their eponymous debut album was nominated in three categories in the 2014 Grammy Awards, and subsequently won the award for “Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance.” The album contains their recording of “Partita for 8 Voices,” a composition by group member Caroline Shaw that won the Pulitzer Prize for music in 2013. Their most recent album “Render” was released in April 2015.

Roomful of Teeth has performed in concert halls and at festivals across the United States, and has commissioned new works from composers including Elena Ruehr, Christine Southworth and Evan Ziporyn, Rinde Eckert, Judd Greenstein, Caleb Burhans, Merrill Garbus (of tUnE-yArDs), William Brittelle, Sarah Kirkland Snider, Missy Mazzoli, Sam Amidon, Michael Harrison, Ted Hearne, and Julia Wolfe.